Showing posts with label Great War. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Great War. Show all posts

Tuesday, October 07, 2014

315261 Pioneer George Page, Royal Engineers


In its first published roll call of local serving men in October 1914, Chailey Parish Magazine notes that George Page is serving his King and Country. Twelve months later he is noted as serving with the 1st Royal Sussex Regiment in England but by December 1915 is recorded as being in India. 

In January 1917 the parish magazine notes against his name that he is missing but by January 1918 he is being recorded simply as Page, Pte G, RE. This information is then repeated monthly up to and including December 1918 after which there is no further information about this man. From the information provided in Chailey’s parish magazine I have been unable to match George Page with certainty to any named individuals in census returns or to provide a link between him and Chailey. Subsequently however, and thanks to the work of a Newick-based researcher, Simon Stevens, I have discovered that George Robert Page was a pupil at Newick school between 1899 and 1906. John Oldaker, the headmaster there during the First World War, contacted ex-pupils and asked them to send him photos of themselves in army uniform. He also made notes about their service careers. For George Page he has this to say: “Enlisted 1910. Royal Sussex Regt, 1st Batt. In India during the war. Transferred to RE. Died in India 1919.”



The National Archives records him as L/9311 Private George Page, Royal Sussex Regiment, later 315261 Pioneer George Page, Royal Engineers. His Royal Sussex Regiment number confirms that he was a career soldier who enlisted in late 1909 or early 1910. He may be related to John and Thomas Page who also appear in Chailey’s roll call of local serving men. The photo that appears on this page is a detail taken from what was probably an In Memoriam type photograph which, in its turn, had been cropped from a group photo.

George was originally buried in Landi Kotal Cemetery and his name is also carved onto the Delhi Memorial (India Gate) in New Delhi. His name does not appear on either the Chailey or Newick war memorials.

Medal index card face and reverse courtesy of Ancestry; photograph of George Page courtesy of Simon Stevens.

G/17915 Pte Albert Thompsett, 12th Royal Sussex Regiment


Albert Henry Thompsett was born at Haywards Heath, Sussex in 1898, his birth registered at Cuckfield in the June quarter of that year. He appears on the 1901 census of England and Wales as a two year old infant living at Petlands Gardens, Haywards Heath with his family. The household in 1901 comprised his father, Albert Thompsett, aged 26 and working as a labourer; his mother, Kate Henrietta Thompsett (aged 22) and his baby sister, Lilian Bessie Thompsett (aged one).

Albert almost certainly joined up under age. Soldiers Died in The Great War notes that he enlisted at Haywards Heath and he first appears in Chailey’s Parish Magazine in January 1916 where it is noted that he is serving with the 2/4th Royal Sussex Regiment in England. His medal index card (below, courtesy of Ancestry) notes his 4th Battalion number which dates to November 1915


In October 1916, the parish magazine reports that Albert Thompsett is now a lance corporal serving with the 12th Royal Sussex in France but in April 1918 he is noted as missing. This information is then repeated monthly up to and including the final published roll call in July 1919. According to the Commonwealth War Graves’ Commission’s Debt of Honour register, G/17915 Lance Corporal Albert Thompsett died on Wednesday 3rd April 1918 whilst serving with the 11th Royal Sussex Regiment. His body was not recovered and he is commemorated on the Pozieres Memorial in France.

I am still not aware of Albert's connection with Chailey. He is commemorated on both Chailey’s war memorial and the roll of honour inside All Saints Church, Plumpton Green, and the 1911 census notes that the family was living at Station Road, Plumpton Green. I am grateful to J Allfey for sending me the photo which appears on this blog and which shows Albert, his mother and, possibly, his grandmother, seated.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

253988 Gnr William Padgham, RFA


William Padgham was born in Fletching, Sussex around 1899. He appears on the 1901 census of England and Wales as a one year old infant living at Wharf Cottage, Fletching with his family. The family comprised John Padgham (head, aged 40, a native of Fletching working as an agricultural labourer), his wife Mary Padgham (aged 39, a native of Lindfield) and their five children: Louisa Padgham (aged 13), Florence Padgham (aged nine), Alice Padgham (aged five), Albert Edward Padgham (aged three) and William. All of the children had been born in Fletching.

The 1911 census shows the family living at Attrells Cottage, Chailey. John Padgham, aged 51 is now a general labourer in a timber yard and there are three children: Albert (13), William (11) and Dorothy Padgham (aged eight). William Page (17) and Richard Pointing (60) are noted as boarders there. The children's mother is possibly the same Mary Ann Padgham who died in 1902 - possibly in childbirth - at the age of 40.


Chailey Parish Magazine first mentions William in November 1916, noting: Padgham, Gnr W, RFA, England. He appears to have served throughout the war, his name appearing in the monthly roll call published up to and including July 1919. William’s brother Albert Padgham also served his King and Country during the First World War.

My thanks to David Gordon for the photograph of William. Medal index card courtesy of Ancestry.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

SS6327 Able Seaman Albert Langridge, Royal Navy



Albert Langridge, pictured above when he was serving on HMS Myngs,  was born at Lewes, Sussex on the 12th August 1897. He appears on the 1901 census of England & Wales as a three year old living at Broomfield, South Common, Chailey. The family comprised George Langridge (head), aged 33 and working as a farmer; his wife Harriet (also aged 33) and their two sons: Albert and Cecil (aged one). Like his older brother, Cecil Langridge would also later join the Royal Navy and would be killed at the Battle of Jutland on 31st May 1916.

By the time the 1911 census was taken, Albert was a 13-year-old schoolboy still living at Broomfields Farm with his parents and younger brother, Cecil. Two other siblings had also arrived since the 1901 census was taken: Ethel Langridge (aged nine in 1911) and Harold Langridge (aged seven). A five-year-old Frank Southam is noted as a boarder. The head of the household, George Langridge, is recorded as a farm foreman.

When Albert joined the Royal Navy on 23rd August 1915, he stated his trade as cowman. He enlisted for five years with the colours and seven years with the Royal Fleet Reserve. His hair is described as light brown his eyes as blue and his complexion as fair. He was given the number SS6327 and the rating of ordinary seaman. His service history reads as follows:

HMS Victory I: 23rd August – 13th October 1915
HMS Myngs: 14th October 1915 – 4th February 1917 (promoted to the rating of able seaman on 18th December 1916)
HMS Torrent: 17th February – 31st December 1917
HMS Victory I: 1st January – 28th April 1918
HMS Winchester: 29th April 1918 – 30th January 1920



The photograph above shows men of HMS Winchester. Text on the reverse, reads: "Taken at the well known place called Scapa Flow after taking the German fleet to anchor on November 21st 1918. Ship's Company of HMS Winchester."

Albert's last posting was to the shore establishment, HMS Victory I between the 31st January and the 20th September 1920. The following day he joined the Royal Fleet Reserve. He had held the sub-rating of seaman gunner between 8th July 1918 and his demob on 20th September 1920, and he was also awarded a good conduct badge on 22nd August 1918.

Throughout his service with the Royal Navy, Albert's character was rated “very good” with his ability ranging from “satisfactory” to “superior”. There is a note on his record that he was wounded when HMS Torrent was sunk on 23rd December 1918.

The photograph below shows Albert, seated third from left. It is undated but may date to his time on HMS Winchester as some men bear this ship's name on their caps.

 
 
My grateful thanks to Hazel Dean and Roger Langridge, great nephew of Albert and Cecil Langridge for sending me the photos that appear on this post, and for giving permission to reproduce these here.

Henry John Langridge


I know little about this man. Chailey Parish Magazine notes in January 1916 that Henry J Langridge has attested but is medically unfit. It later mentions Langridge, Gunner H, RGA, England but I believe this to be Herbert Langridge who is commemorated elsewhere on this blog.

Henry J Langridge is probably Henry John Langridge who was born at Maresfield, Sussex around 1882 and who, at the time the 1891 census was taken, was living with his family at Maresfield Street, Maresfield. The household comprised Adam Langridge (aged 53, a general labourer born in Fletching), his wife Mary Langridge (nee Waite, aged 51, a laundress) and Henry (a ten year old scholar). Fifteen year old Jessie Frances Billings (a laundress’s assistant) was also living with the family.

By the time the 1901 census was taken, the family was living in Maresfield village, Henry (aged 19) recorded as a bricklayer’s labourer. Mary Waite (aged 22, Adam Langridge’s niece and also recorded as a laundress), was living with the family as well.

Henry was certainly not the only child. The 1881 census return records George Langridge (aged 18) and Annie Langridge (aged 11) while the 1871 census notes a six year old Mary Langridge (although Anne is also recorded as being six years old).

By the time the 1911 census was taken, 29-year-old Henry was married and living at 4 Longhurst Cottages, Chailey with his 30-year-old wife, Fanny Limber Langridge and their two children: Mary Elizabeth Langridge (aged six), and Francis Henry Joseph Langridge (aged one). Henry's trade is given as an assurance agent for the Prudential.

Photo, courtesy of Google, shows Longhurst Cottages, North Chailey today (2014).

115996 Gunner Herbert Langridge, Royal Garrison Artillery


 
Herbert Langridge was born around 1878 and appears on the 1881 census living with his family at 2, New Cottages, Chailey.  The household comprised James Langridge (head, married, a 25 year old carpenter and game keeper), his wife Ellen Langridge (nee Wilson, aged 27) and their two sons, Herbert (aged two) and Arthur (aged one).  The boys and their father had all been born in Chailey; Ellen was born in Mayfield.

By the time the 1891 census was taken, the family was living at Roeheath Cottages, Chailey.  No additions to the family are noted.  Ten years later, the 1901 census has the family staying at 2, Roeheath Cottages, Chailey.  Herbert is recorded as a 23 year old plumber and painter.

Chailey Parish Magazine notes in January 1916 that Herbert Langridge has attested, and in October 1916 that, Langridge, Gunner H, RGA is in England.  This must be Herbert as the other H Langridge (Henry J Langridge) mentioned in the parish magazine, is noted as having attested medically unfit.

In October 1918 the magazine notes that Lance-Bombardier H Langridge has been wounded and this information is then repeated monthly up to and including the final published roll call in July 1919.

The National Archives gives one possibly for a Herbert Langridge serving with the Royal Garrison Artillery and that is 115996 Gunner Herbert Langridge.  Chailey Parish Magazine also mentions an Arthur Langridge serving with the Royal Field Artillery and this is probably Herbert’s brother.
 
Medal index card courtesy of Ancestry.

Saturday, September 20, 2014

49845 Corporal Shoeing-Smith Arthur Langridge MSM, Royal Field Artillery



The Arthur Langridge mentioned in Chailey parish magazine was a Boer War veteran and Old Contemptible and is almost certainly the same boy who appears on the 1881 census living with his family at 2, New Cottages, Chailey.  The household comprised James Langridge (head, married, a 25 year old carpenter and game keeper), his wife Ellen Langridge (nee Wilson, aged 27) and their two sons, Herbert Langridges (aged two) and Arthur (aged one).  The boys and their father had all been born in Chailey; Ellen was born in Mayfield.

By the time the 1891 census was taken, the family was living at Roeheath Cottages, Chailey.  No additions to the family are noted but Arthur is not recorded.  Ten years later, the 1901 census has the family staying at 2, Roeheath Cottages, Chailey.  Herbert is recorded as a 23 year old plumber and painter but again, Arthur is missing and I have been unable to locate him on census returns.
 
On 29th April 1902, 22-year-old Arthur enlisted with the Royal Horse and Field Artillery at Lewes. His surviving papers in WO 97 note his place of birth as Chailey and his trade as a blacksmith. Arthur joined for one year (or for the duration if the war in South Africa was not over). Arthur joined his regiment at Woolwich on 2nd May 1902 and was given the regimental number 23542. He was subsequently appointed shoeing smith and served in South Africa before being discharged on the 2nd June 1903.
 
 
Arthur subsequently re-enlisted in 1908 and was working as a blacksmith (but on the Army Reserve) when Britain went to war in August 1914. The 1911 census shows him married to 31-year-old Mary Ann Langridge, the father of Esther Langridge (aged three) and Margaret Langridge (aged one). The family was living at Sunnydale, Plumpton, Sussex.
 
Arthur's medal index card shows that he was in France by October 1914 and he served throughout the war. At one point in 1915 he was a witness for the prosecution in a case brought by his regiment. A single page survives for him in WO 364 which I reproduce below.
 
 
Arthur first appears in the September 1915 issue of Chailey’s parish magazine as A Langridge.  In October 1915 he is reported as Langridge, Shoeing-smith A, RFA, France and the same source also notes his promotion to “corporal shoeing-smith” in October 1918.  This information is then repeated monthly up to and including the final published roll call in July 1919.

According to The Times, he was 49845 Sergeant A Langridge and his name appeared in the paper on Wednesday 19th June 1918 in connection with his award of the Meritorious Service Medal.  He is noted there as: 49845 Sgt A Langridge, RFA (Chailey, Lewes).
 
 
 
Arthur continued to serve with the Royal Artillery after the war ended and has service papers in the Royal Artillery collection recently published on Findmypast. Medal index cards courtesy of Ancestry. Service paper images are Crown Copyright The National Archives.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

L/9533 Pte George Hall, Royal West Kent Regiment


George Hall was born in Chailey, probably early in 1894. His birth was registered at Lewes district in the March quarter of that year and he appears on the 1901 census as a seven year old living at Station Cottage, Chailey with his family. The household comprised Thomas Hall (head, aged 52, a railway plate layer), his wife Rhoda Hall (aged 47) and their four children: Rosey Hall (aged 12), Charles Hall (aged nine), George and Harry Hall (aged three). All three boys would later serve in the First World War.

Census returns for 1891 and 1881 reveal other Hall children as well: Elizabeth, aged 15 in 1891, another daughter – the name is difficult to decipher – aged 11 in 1891 and Annie Hall, aged four in 1891. The 1881 census additionally notes John Hall, aged three.

Chailey Parish Magazine notes George in its first list of men serving their King and Country in October 1914. In October 1915 this information is updated to include the additional information that Drummer G Hall is serving with the 2nd Royal West Kent Regiment in India. The 2nd Royal West Kent was a regular battalion which had been stationed at Multan, India when war was declared and which would later be besieged in Kut. George remained with the battalion for the duration of the war.

In July 1916, Chailey Parish Magazine adds the additional information that he is serving with the Indian Expeditionary Force (although throughout the war, the battalion was assigned to various Indian divisions). The National Archives in London gives George Hall’s rank as Private and his number as L/9533, this latter information suggesting that he enlisted in early 1910. George’s final mention in Chailey Parish Magazine in July 1919 simply mentions his rank of Drummer and battalion as before.

As can be seen from his medal index card above (courtesy of Ancestry) his rank is noted as Drummer on his 1914-15 Star, and Private on his British War and Victory Medals. The latter roll confirms that George served with the 2nd Battalion, Royal West Kent Regiment.

320605 Pte Harry Hall, 12th Norfolk Regiment

 
Harry Hall was born in Chailey in 1897, his birth registered at Lewes district in the December quarter of that year.  He appears on the 1901 census as a three year old living at Station Cottage, Chailey with his family.  The household comprised Thomas Hall (head, aged 52, a railway plate layer), his wife Rhoda Hall (aged 47) and their four children: Rosey Hall (aged 12), Charles Hall (aged nine), George Hall (aged seven) and Harry.  All three boys would later serve in the First World War. 

Census returns for 1891 and 1881 reveal other Hall children as well: Elizabeth, aged 15 in 1891, another daughter – the name is difficult to decipher – aged 11 in 1891 and Annie Hall, aged four in 1891.  The 1881 census additionally notes John Hall, aged three. 

Chailey Parish Magazine first notes an H Hall in November 1916, reporting that he is a Gunner serving with the RFA in England.  By January 1917 however, he is recorded as being with the 7th Training Reserve Battalion.  The following information about the Training Reserve Battalions is taken from Chris Baker’s website, The Long, Long Trail: 

On 1 September 1916, a considerable re-organisation of the reserve infantry battalions took place. Before this date, most of the infantry regiments contained one or more reserve battalions. Recruits would be posted to these battalions for basic training, before they were posted to an active service unit. With the introduction of conscription, the regimental system simply could not cope with numbers, hence this development. Thus, in combination with conscription, the local nature of recruitment for infantry regiments was abandoned.
 
After 1 September 1916, these regimental distinctions disappeared, and the reserve battalions were re-designated as battalions of the Training Reserve. They were organised into new Brigades of the Training Reserve. No Guards, Irish or TF Battalions converted to Training Reserve, and this change did not affect the Special Reserve or Extra Reserve battalions of the regular army (normally the 3rd and 4th Battalions of a regiment).  The official complement of the Training Reserve was a little over 208,500 soldiers.

Men who attended the Training Reserve battalions were not allocated to any particular regiment when the time came for them to be posted. Thus, in combination with conscription, the local nature of recruitment for infantry regiments was abandoned. Later, from May 1917, this arrangement was itself altered when the units of the Training Reserve became Graduated and Young Soldier battalions.

The 7th TRB had its origins in the 9th (Reserve) Battalion of the East Yorkshire Regiment but Harry does not appear to have joined this regiment.  In December 1917, Chailey Parish Magazine reported that he had been wounded whilst serving with the 12th Norfolk Regiment and the following April, still with the 12th Norfolks, he was reported as having been wounded again.

His final entry in Chailey Parish Magazine appears in July 1919 where it reports: Hall, Pte H, 12th Norfolk Regiment.  Twice wounded.
 
The 12th (Norfolk Yeomanry) Battalion was a Territorial Force battalion formed in Egypt in February 1917 from the dismounted 1/1st Norfolk Yeomanry of the 230th Brigade in the 74th Division.  On 1st May 1918 it sailed from Alexandria, arriving in Marseilles six days later.  It remained on the Western Front for the remainder of the war. Harry would therefore appear to have been wounded - or injured - whilst the battalion was stationed in Egypt.
 
The National Archives notes three men with the name Harry Hall who served overseas with the Norfolk Regiment.  The Chailey Harry Hall is almost certainly the man noted as 320605 Harry Hall as this number falls within the block of numbers (315001 – 325000) allocated to the 12th Norfolks when the Territorial Force was re-numbered in 1917.
 
Medal index card courtesy of Ancestry.

Tuesday, September 09, 2014

SD/3078 Lance-Sergeant Thomas Clarkson, 13th Royal Sussex Regt


Tom Clarkson, remembers Chailey resident Reg Philpott, was a schoolmaster at one time and like his brother Richard, “had a rough time too.” He was born in 1890, his birth registered in the June quarter of that year. He appears on the 1901 census of England and Wales as the eldest of six boys living with his family at South Street, Chailey. Present when the census was taken were Ellen Clarkson (head, aged 39) and her sons: Thomas (aged 11), John William Clarkson (aged nine), James Clarkson (aged eight), Victor Clarkson (aged four), Richard Clarkson (aged two), and Edward Clarkson (aged one month). All the boys were born in Chailey and John and Richard would also serve their King and Country during the First World War. The boys’ father, Thomas Clarkson, is recorded on both the 1891and 1901 census as working at The Hooke, Chailey. Aged 43 in 1901 he was born in Goosnargh, Lancashire and is listed as a butler.

Chailey Parish Magazine first notes Thomas Clarkson in March 1915, stating simply that he is serving his King and Country. In October 1915 he is recorded as a corporal with the 13th Royal Sussex Regiment and by April 1916 it is noted that he is in France. In June that year, the parish magazine reports that his rank is now that of lance-sergeant.

On Friday July 14th 1916 the East Sussex News reported that he had been wounded in action stating simply, “Sergt T Clarkson of Chailey, who is in the Royal Sussex Regiment, has been wounded and is in hospital in England.” The following month, the parish magazine duly reported that he had been wounded and was in France, updating this in October to note that he was in England. The parish magazine continues to record “wounded” against Tom Clarkson’s name up until November 1916. Thereafter, until his final mention in March 1917, he is simply noted as Clarkson, Lance-Sergeant T, 13th Royal Sussex.

Tom Clarkson’s service record survives in the WO 364 pension series at The National Archives. He enlisted in the 13th Royal Sussex Regiment (3rd South Down) at Bexhill on the 17th December 1914 and was given the service number SD/3078. He gave his address as Wickham House, Newick, Sussex (his father’s address) and his profession as schoolmaster. He was 24 years and eight months old. Although single at the time of his enlistment he married Dora Annie Halb, a widow, on 24th April 1915 at St Luke’s parish church in Wolverhampton. He’d been appointed lance-corporal five days earlier and the following month would be promoted to corporal. On 9th June 1916 he was appointed paid lance-sergeant, a rank he would retain until his discharge from the army on 28th December 1916.

Tom Clarkson sailed for France on 4th March 1916 but was only overseas for 120 days before he was wounded on 1st July 1916, receiving a gunshot wound in his right forearm. He returned to England the following day and remained there until his discharge from the army. His address on discharge is given as The Schools, Ifield Road, Crawley.

In December 1916, on Army Form W.3494, Tom Clarkson noted that he held the Certificate of the Board of Education and that prior to enlistment he had been a schoolmaster at Crawley CE School; a position he had held for eight months and one to which he would return. On 8th February 1917 he received the silver war badge and certificate and in due course would also receive the British War and Victory medals from a grateful country. In total, he had spent two years and 12 days serving his King and Country.

Monday, September 08, 2014

G/5793 Pte Ernest Arthur Malins, 6th Royal West Kent Regiment


G/5793 Lance-Corporal Ernest Malins was a convalescent patient at Hickwells in July 1915. His entry in Nurse Oliver’s album, dated 12th July 1915, accompanies a pencil drawing of The Queen’s Own Royal West Kent cap badge and reads:

With best wishes
Lc Cp Malins
5793 Royal West Kent
3rd Batt.
H Comp
Upper Barracks Chatham

Ernest Arthur Malins was born at Kingston upon Thames, Surrey, around January 1881. He appears on the 1881 census as a three month old infant living in Kingston with his family. The household comprised: Thomas Andrew Malins (head, married, aged 35, working as a coach painter), his wife Elizabeth Ann Malins (aged 32) and their six children: Evelina Rebecca Malins (aged ten), Alice Maud Malins (aged eight), Thomas Edward Malins (aged six), Albert Andrew Malins (aged four), Annie Laura (aged two) and Ernest.

By the time the 1891 census was taken, Evelina and Alice had moved away from the family home in Bittoms Lane, Kingston, but there were three other children: Edgar Morris Malins (aged eight), Archibald D Malins (aged four) and Sidney Howard W Malins (aged one). Thomas Malins is recorded on the 1891 census as a coach builder. Also noted on the same page of the 1891 census is the household headed by Robert Porter Malins (Thomas Andrew’s younger brother). He was married, aged 39 and working as a wheelwright. He and his wife, Georgina (also aged 39), had five children living with them: Emily Frances Malins (aged 17), John George Malins (aged 15), Jessie May Malins (aged 11), Maggie Elizabeth Malins (aged six) and William Andrew Malins (aged one). At least four Malins children also died in infancy - Nellie Malins in 1883, Frederick Herbert Malins and Thomas Charles Malins in 1891 and Richard Henry W Malins in 1896. All four children were under one year old and all were almost certainly children or grandchildren of Thomas and Robert.

I have been unable to find Ernest on the 1901 census but his parents were living at 75 Bridge Street West, Battersea, south London. The household had shrunk somewhat. Thomas is noted as a coach painter and writer and besides his wife there are just two children living with them: Warren A D Malins (aged 14, working as a railway clerk) and Sidney. Warren appears on the 1891 census as Archibald D Malins although his birth was registered (in the September quarter of 1886) as Warren Archibald D Malins.

Ernest married Harriet Hayward in 1909, their marriage registered in the December quarter of that year in the district of Wandsworth. On 22nd February 1915, he attested with the Royal West Kent Regiment at Kingston, with his brother Sidney (who appears to have attested under the name of Howard W Malins). The surviving recruitment registers for Kingston note that Ernest was 33 years and one month old, was five feet six and three eighths of an inch tall and weighed 152 pounds. His occupation is recorded as grocer’s assistant and his home address noted as 53 Rye Hill Road, Peckham, south east London. His brother Howard (aged 25 years and ten months) is recorded as being slightly taller than Ernest at five feet eight and three quarter inches, and two pounds heavier. He was occupied as a motor brush maker and living at 35 Trott Street, Battersea.

The following month, Ernest and Howard’s cousin William (aged 24) also attested at Kingston (on the 26th), joining the King’s Royal Rifle Corps. He was five feet, four and a half inches tall and weighed 110 pounds. Under “distinctive marks”, tattoos are noted.

There appears to be some discrepancy about Ernest’s age. According to the 1881 census, taken on the night of 3rd April 1881, Ernest was three months old. This places his date of birth to January 1881 and would have made him 34 years and one month old in February 1915, not 33 years as noted in the recruitment register. There is a similar discrepancy regarding William Malin’s age, aged one in 1891 according to the census but only just aged 24 in March 1915 (according to the recruitment register for Kingston).

It is unclear which battalion of the Royal West Kent Regiment Ernest was posted to after he attested but he would probably have been in hospital prior to his time at Hickwells as it was still a convalescent home in July 1915. He must have recovered sufficiently however because he was posted to the 6th Royal West Kent Regiment (part of the 37th Brigade in the 12th Division) and was killed in action whilst serving with this battalion on 2nd July 1916. The 6th RWK, had spent the morning clearing trenches of dead and wounded and in the afternoon had been ordered to take over the support trenches. In the afternoon, during the relief, 2nd Lieutenant Hoyland and 28 other ranks were wounded and four men – including Ernest Malins - were killed. At nine o’clock in the evening the men were ordered back to their former position south of Ovillers. The following day the battalion lost a further 375 men killed, wounded or missing in an attack and counter attack the following day.



Ernest Malins’s body was never found and he is commemorated on pier and face 11C of The Thiepval Memorial on The Somme. Howard and William Malins both appear to have survived. Soldiers Died in The Great War gives Ernest's number as G/5793 although he omits this in Nurse Oliver's album. The Commonwealth War Graves Commission incorrectly states his number as G/15793.

The photo below shows Ernest (left) and his brother Sidney Howard Williams Malins at home in England with their parents. My thanks to Sam for sending this.


Somewhat drunken medal index card courtesy of Ancestry; name detail at Thiepval courtesy of Garth McGowen.

SD/3427 Lance Corporal Albert Plummer, 13th Royal Sussex Regt


Albert Plummer was a baby of four months old when the 1881 census was taken. His father, Charles Plummer (29) was an agricultural labourer living at 2 Adams Cottages, South Street, Chailey with his 28 year old wife Caroline Elizabeth Plummer (nee Martin) and their six children. Charles had been born in Fletching, Sussex and his wife in Wivelsfield (also in Sussex). It is possible that the family had also lived in Wivelsfield earlier because the two older children, Clement (aged nine) and Charles William (aged seven) had also been born there.

Albert appears on the 1891 census, living with his family at South Street, Chailey. The family comprised Charles Plummer (now noted as 37 years old and an agricultural labourer), his 36 year old wife Caroline and their eight children: Clement Martin Plummer (aged 19, an agricultural labourer), Ebenezer Plummer (aged 14), Emily Plummer (aged 12), Albert Plummer (aged ten), Owen Plummer (aged eight), Alexander Plummer (aged five), Annie Plummer (aged three) and Laura Plummer (aged five months). Another son, 17 year old Charles William Plummer, was working as a cow lad and domestic servant for Thomas Farrant at Weavel’s Den, Chailey.

Ten years later, most of the family is still living at South Street (although some of the ages do not tally with the information given on the previous census return and there are some name variations). The family comprised Charles Plummer (aged 49 and now working as carter on a farm), his wife Caroline (whose age is given as 57) and seven children: [Charles] William Plummer (a 27 year old farm labourer), Albert Plummer (a 20 year old gardener), Owen Plummer (an eighteen year old brickyards labourer), Annie Plummer (aged 12), Laura N Plummer (aged 11), Dora Louisa Plummer (aged six) and Kate Elizabeth Plummer (aged three). Clement Martin Plummer, oldest of the Plummer children, was married with two children, living at 45 Church Street, Brighton and working as brewer’s labourer. Ebenezer Plummer had moved out of the family home and was living at 77 South Common with his wife Edith Mary (nee Jenner) and her 88 year old grandfather John Jenner. Fifteen year old Alexander was still in Chailey but not at South Street. He was working as a page at The Hooke, Chailey.

Chailey Parish Magazine first mentions Albert serving his King and Country in November 1915 when it notes him as a Private with the Royal Sussex Regiment in England. According to Soldiers Died in The Great War, Albert enlisted at Eastbourne. He was given the number SD/3427 with the 13th Battalion of the Royal Sussex Regiment. The SD part of Albert Plummer’s number refers to South Downs. The 11th, 12th and 13th Royal Sussex Regiment were also known as the 1st, 2nd and 3rd South Downs; Pals-type battalions which in time would find themselves assigned to a division (the 39th), with other Pals’ battalions. Chailey Parish Magazine first records Albert’s connection with the 13th Royal Sussex in December 1915, noting that he was in England.

By July 1916 it reported that he was in France and that same month, on Friday 14th July, The East Sussex News also reported that he was missing in France. Soldiers Died and The Commonwealth War Graves’ Commission’s (CWGC) Roll of Honour show that Lance-Corporal Albert Plummer died of wounds on 2nd July 1916. He is buried in Cabaret-Rouge British Cemetery Souchez. Albert's name is recorded on Chailey’s war memorial and on the wooden panel inside St Peter’s Church. His name is also recorded on the stone tablet inside St Mary The Virgin Church, Westham, Sussex. The CWGC roll of honour notes that Albert Plummer was the son of the late Charles and Caroline Plummer (although they were still alive when he was reported missing) and the husband of Esther Plummer of 3 Andros Close, Chailey. Two of Albert’s brothers, Alexander Plummer and Owen Plummer, were also killed during the First World War; all three brothers being commemorated together on Chailey’s war memorial.

Medal index card courtesy of Ancestry.

17855 Battery Quartermaster Sergeant William Walder, Royal Garrison Artillery


William Walder was born in 1882 and appears for the first time on the 1891 census.  He is recorded as an eight year old,  living at South Street, Chailey with his parents George Walder, (a 46 year old bricklayer from Fletching), Harriet Walder (nee Heasman, aged 48, born in Chailey) and his brothers and sisters:  George Walder (a 22 year old labourer), Ellen Walder (a twelve year old scholar) and John Walder (aged six). There was also another sister – Anne Walder – born in 1872.

As early as July 1915, Chailey Parish Magazine notes that Wiliam Walder is serving his King and Country and in October 1915 notes that he is a sergeant with the Royal Garrison Artillery.  In February 1917 it notes that he is a brigade [sic] quarter master sergeant and this information is then repeated up to and including the final published roll call in July 1919. 
 
No service record appears to survive in WO 363 or WO 364 but thankfully we do get a sketch history of his service from his surviving entry in the Royal Artillery's archive. He originally attested in London on the 22nd January 1904 aged 20 years and three months. At the time he was working as a footman and gave his place of birth as Chailey. His next of kin, if that person were a parent, would have been noted in pencil. However, William was married in 1907, to Thomasine Louisa Pascoe in Falmouth and it is her details which have been over-written in the attestation register. The couple would go on to have three children; William (born 1911), Doris May (born 1912) and Ella Joan (born 1919).
 
William was discharged at Dover on the 21st January 1925 on the termination of his engagement. His address was given as 6 H Battery. I have seen a photograph of William taken in Singapore earlier in his career and wearing a single stripe.
 
William's medal index card, above, is courtesy of Ancestry.

Monday, November 27, 2006

Remembering Arthur Turner - KiA 89 years ago today


According to the 1901 census, seven year Arthur Turner was born at Ringmer, Sussex although Soldiers Died In The Great War (SD) notes his place of birth as Little Horsted, Sussex. At the time the census was taken, Arthur was living with his parents Henry (46) and Elizabeth (46) at South Street, Chailey. Henry had been born in Ringmer and was working as a farm labourer. Elizabeth had been born at Fletching.

Arthur enlisted in the Royal Sussex Regiment at Lewes, Sussex and was given the number G/21022. Chailey Parish Magazine first mentions him in June 1917, recording him as Turner, Pte A, 3rd Royal Sussex. These details then appear every month up to and including September 1917. In December 1917 he appears in the magazine’s Roll of Honour as: Pte A Turner, 8th Royal Sussex Pioneers, killed in action, Nov 26th 1917 in France.

SD and The Commonwealth War Graves’ Commission’s Roll of Honour (CWGC) note Arthur’s date of death as 27th November 1917, SD stating that he died of wounds. CWGC notes that at the time of his death he was serving with D Company, 8th Royal Sussex and that he was 24 years old. CWGC also notes that he was the son of Henry and Elizabeth Turner of White Lodge, Roeheath, Chailey, Lewes.

The 8th Royal Sussex Battalion was a New Army battalion formed at Chichester in September 1914. It was a pioneer battalion attached to the 54th Brigade in the 18th Division.
The 18th Divisional history has nothing to say about the actual date on which Arthur Turner was killed but it describes the misery of the division’s position in some detail. November 1917 saw it holding fast at Houthulst Forest north of Ypres, “a flat, low-lying 600 acres of broken stumps and wreckage , a swamp with many a deep and treacherous hole to trap the unwary walker and let him in up to the neck… It was mud that stank: when the rain ceased the nostrils had to accept a faded musty smell that hung in the air five miles behind the line – a smell that told of desolation and decay, of gas shells, of dead men.”

Arthur Turner, commemorated on Chailey’s war memorial, is buried at Dozinghem Military Cemetery, Poperinghe. The inscription on his grave stone reads: THE LORD KNOWETH THEM / THAT ARE HIS.

Thursday, August 24, 2006

Another dawn, another death - Albert Padgham


Ninety years ago today, Albert Padgham lost his life. This is his story.

Albert Edward Padgham was born in Fletching, Sussex around 1897 (Soldiers Died gives Chailey as his place of birth). He appears on the 1901 census of England and Wales as a three year old living at Wharf Cottage, Fletching with his family. The family comprised John Padgham (head, aged 40, a native of Fletching working as an agricultural labourer), his wife Mary Padgham (aged 39, a native of Lindfield) and their five children: Louisa Padgham (aged 13), Florence Padgham (aged nine), Alice Padgham (aged five), Albert and William Padgham (aged one). The census return, contrary to the information on Soldiers Died, notes that all of the children had been born in Fletching.

Soldiers Died in The Great War states that he enlisted at Brighton and at the time of his death (as a result of wounds received in action) on 24th August 1916 he was L/10419 Private Albert Edward Padgham of the 2nd Royal Sussex Regiment. The Commonwealth War Graves’ Debt of Honour Register confirms the regimental details, his age (19) and date of death. It also adds that he was the son of John and Mary Padgham of Chailey, Sussex. He is buried in Puchevillers British Cemetery on the Somme, grave reference: III.E.8.


Chailey Parish Magazine first mentions Albert in October 1914, noting that he is serving his King and Country. His army number, with the prefix "L", suggests that he was a regular soldier and he may have enlisted shortly before or around August 1914. In October 1915 the parish magazine notes that he is a private soldier serving with the 3rd Royal Sussex Regiment in England and in May 1916 adds the additional information that he has been wounded. In September 1916 his name was added to the parish magazine’s roll of honour.

The likely sequence of events is that Albert Padgham transferred to the 2nd Royal Sussex Regiment from the reserve 3rd battalion and was then wounded on the Western Front where he subsequently died. It is unclear whether the wounds mentioned in the parish magazine in May 1916 are those from which he ultimately succumbed.


Albert’s brother William Padgham also served his King and Country during the First World War. The undated photograph above shows Albert seated with an unknown pal. My thanks to David Gordon for sharing the two military photos with me. Albert's grave courtesy of Bob Pike.

Tuesday, August 22, 2006

Dark days for Chailey - Magnus Rainier Robertson

Staff and patients, Brook House, Chailey circa 1917

August would turn out to be the worst month of the year for the people of Chailey Parish. Eight local men lost their lives this month and a further four men nursed at Hickwells and Beechlands hospitals were also killed. On this day, 88 years ago, Captain Magnus Rainier Robertson MC lost his life in the service of his King and Country. This is his story.

Magnus Rainier Robertson was born at Chailey on 26th August 1887. He was the son of Magnus Laurence Robertson (1840 - 1890) and Mary Robertson (1846 - 1933) and had two sisters, Eliza (1883 – 1903) and Maud (1885 – 1896).

Magnus’ father had been butler to John McQueen, the former owner of Brook House, Chailey. All the Robertsons save Magnus (who was born at Chailey), and including Magnus’s father Magnus Laurence Robertson, had come from Shetland with McQueen in around 1886-7, when McQueen fell heir to Brook House. Magnus senior was McQueen’s butler. He died at Lewes in 1890.   In the 1891 census, the occupants of Brook House were: McQueen (51); Mary Robertson (45), widow, his housekeeper, and her three children, Eliza (7), Maud (5), Magnus (3), William Robertson, (54), married, butler;  Jessie Robertson (54), unmarried, a retired domestic servant; plus 4 other servants.  Mary, nee Langridge, had been born at Chailey but had been in Shetland in 1881, as a housekeeper (probably to John McQueen).  It seems likely that she had gone from Chailey with McQueen when he went to Shetland from Chailey.

John McQueen’s parents were Lieut-General James McQueen and Eliza, daughter of Rear-Admiral J S Rainier, who owned Brook House, hence Magnus’s middle name.  Magnus, John McQueen's private secretary, had been left Brook House by John McQueen when he died in 1911.  

Magnus Robertson attested with the Royal Sussex Regiment on 4th September 1914. On his attestation papers (Army Form B. 111 - Short service – One year with the Colours), the “One year” has been crossed out and replaced with “three years”. Robertson attested that he had lived away from his father’s house for three years at “various places” and that his trade or calling was “Gentleman”. His attestation was witnessed by Captain Charles Hext Cotesworth of the 21st Lancers. Charles Hext and his father, W G Cotesworth, the JP who certified Robertson’s attestation, would have known him well. Like the Robertson family, the Cotesworths were also a wealthy local family, living nearby in Chailey at Roeheath. Later, Charles Hext’s sister, Margaret Cotesworth, the Commandant of Sussex 54 Voluntary Aid Detachment, would play a key role in running two hospitals in the village.

Magnus Rainier Robertson is described on Army Form B. 111 as being 27 years old, five feet, eight and a half inches tall and weighing twelve stone two pounds. His hair and eyes are described as brown.

Local Chailey doctor, W S Orton, examined Magnus on the 4th September at Charles Cotesworth’s Roeheath home, considering him fit for the Army. This was approved the following day in Brighton.

Magnus was given the number 2825 and posted to The Royal Sussex Regiment Depot. Four days later he was posted to the 8th Royal Sussex and found himself in number 7 platoon, B Company. The 8th Royal Sussex was a K2 pioneer battalion formed at Chichester in September 1914. It would spend the entire war with the 18th (Eastern) Division but Roberston’s tenure with it would be a brief one.

On 10th September 1914, Magnus was appointed lance-corporal but it wasn’t long before he was looking for a role more fitting of his status as a Gentleman. By November he had already applied for a temporary commission in the regular army for the period of the war. He stated on the application form that he could ride, (although noted that he wasn’t a good horseman), and that his preferred unit was the 12th Essex Regiment. The application was witnessed by JP Robert Campion Blencowe (another of Chailey’s landed gentry) on 27th November and Robertson’s good standard of education was attested to by his old headmaster at Seaford Boys’ School. Colonel H G Sutton of the 8th Royal Sussex (which was by now stationed at Colchester, Essex), approved the application on 2nd December 1914. Sixteen days later, 2825 Lance-Corporal Magnus Rainier Robertson was discharged to commission.

It is uncertain why Magnus Robertson’s stated preference was for the 12th Essex Regiment. The battalion had been formed at Harwich on 26th October 1914 and was originally a service battalion in the 106th Brigade in the original 35th Division. In April 1915 however, it became a 2nd reserve battalion and was ultimately absorbed, in September 1916, in the Training Reserve Battalions of the 6th Reserve Brigade at Harwich.

In October 1914, Chailey’s vicar, The Reverend Jellicoe, published his first list of men connected to Chailey who were serving their King and Country. Magnus Robertson appears in that first list and subsequent lists published at monthly intervals throughout the war. In March 1915 he appears for the first time under the category Officer, and in October 1915 as “Robertson, 2nd Lieut M.R. 12th Essex”. Compiled as it was from local hearsay, Reverend Jellicoe’s list should not be regarded as a reliable source of information and the battalions noted are not always correct. However, in the absence of other official papers from Magnus’s file at the National Archive in London, this does seem to point to clear evidence that he was successful in getting posted to the 12th battalion.

Essex Regiment Museum records (ER4658) provide the next reference to Magnus. On 13th July 1916, by now a lieutenant, he embarked for France. On the 19th, he joined the 2nd battalion (4th Division) at Mailly Maillet. It seems reasonable to assume that having been turned into a reserve battalion, either Robertson or the higher authorities, decided that he should not spend more time than was necessary in England and that either he, or they, sought his transfer out of the 12th Essex.

Burrows reports that ten officers and 97 other ranks, joined the battalion on the 18th July but there is no mention of an officer joining on the following day, and no mention at all of Magnus Robertson in the volume that covers the 2nd Battalion.

Between August 13th and 29th inclusive, Magnus was appointed Acting Captain and put in charge of one of one of the 2nd Essex companies (Supplement to The London Gazette, 6th November 1916, page 10730). He reverted to the rank of lieutenant on 30th August but between 10th and 23rd October 1916 was back to Acting Captain (Essex Regiment Museum, ER4658).

On the 23rd October 1916, the 4th and 8th Divisions were involved in an assault on German lines east of Lesboeufs and Gueudecourt. According to Burrows, a heavy mist caused a postponement from 11.30am until 2.30pm and when the troops did go over they were met by heavy machine gun fire. By 9pm, with no gains made, the 2nd Essex were back in their trenches. The battalion suffered 255 casualties and Robertson was one of them. The same day, a telegram was sent to his mother in Chailey, advising her that he had been wounded.

At Magnus’s Medical Board hearing held on 4th November 1916, it was recorded that he had been “wounded by shell fragments near Les Boeufs. One fragment passed from back to front of the upper part of the right arm internal to the bone and was removed from under the skin of the front of the arm. Three other fragments caused wounds in the buttocks, and the officer thinks that these have also been removed.”

On 24th October, Robertson was admitted to the 20th General Hospital at Camiers with, according to a second telegram to his mother, “gunshot wounds right arm and buttocks slight” and on 1st November he was being put on board a hospital ship at Calais, en route for England. He arrived at Dover the same day. Three days later, as mentioned above, the Medical Board convened at The Research Hospital, Cambridge did not expect him to be fit for General Service for four months.

On 22nd December 1916, Magnus wrote to the War office from Brook House, asking for orders to be a re-examined by a Medical Board, “as my leave expires on 3rd Jan 1917”. The subsequent Medical Board held at the 2nd Eastern General Hospital in Brighton found that the wound to his arm was soundly healed, although the wound to his buttocks was still causing some discharge. On the 21st February 1917, and by now with the 3rd Essex Regiment at Felixstowe, another Medical Board found that this time, Robertson had recovered and was fit for General Service; his wounds classified as “slight, not permanent”.

Magnus travelled overseas again and at some point transferred to the 11th Essex Regiment. On 24th May 1917, he was promoted to Captain (Supplement to The London Gazette, 9th October 1917, page 10386) although the Sussex Express clearly did not know this when they published an article of local Chailey interest on 22nd June 1917:

OFFICERS’ NEW CONVALESCENT HOME AT CHAILEY
A new convalescent hospital known as Brook House, Chailey, the residence of Lieut M R Robertson, was opened last week for the accommodation of wounded officers attached to the Flying Corps. The commandant is Miss Blencowe of Bineham, Chailey and the Matron, Miss Jackson, a lady of wide experience. The work in connection with the establishment is purely voluntary and many local ladies have offered their services. Brook House lies in ideal grounds, is embowered in trees and can accommodate between 25 and 30 officers.”

Magnus Robertson was still nominally with the 2nd Battalion but attached to the 11th and it was while he was with this battalion that he was wounded for the second time, winning a Military Cross in the same action. In a trench raid on June 28th 1917 in which his fellow officer, Lieut F B Wearne, won the Victoria Cross, Magnus sustained gunshot wounds to his left leg and face. The raid, intended to take prisoners, obtain identification and destroy dug-outs as well as divert attention from the 46th Division to the right, involved three officers and 80 other ranks as well as one officer and 20 other ranks of the 3rd Australian Tunnelling Company. Although adjudged successful, the raid cost the battalion three officers and 45 other ranks, killed wounded and missing. The Australians lost one killed and 13 wounded.

Later, on 17th September, The Supplement to The London Gazette (page 9583) announced Magnus Robertson’s award of the Military Cross:

T./Lt Magnus Rainier Robertson, Essex R. For conspicuous gallantry and devotion to duty when commanding the centre and most important party of a raid. He went from post to post, encouraging his men, and, although wounded in two places, most ably appreciating and dealing with a very varying situation. He brought up reinforcements at a critical moment , and frustrated all counter-attacks, finally seeing all his wounded safely away and returning with the rear party under heavy rifle fire and machine-gun fire. He set a magnificent example of gallantry and disregard of danger throughout the operation.

Magnus was again admitted to the 20th General Hospital at Camiers and shortly afterwards, sent to the Officers’ Military Hospital in Devonport, England. There, on 10th July, a Medical Board reported that his cheek wound had healed but the wound to his thigh was still discharging. “The right cheek was struck by a piece of shrapnel splinter causing a simple flesh wound. A MG bullet ploughed the fleshy part of outer [unclear] of left thigh. No injury to bone or important tissues.”

Remarkably, just one day after he had been wounded, The East Sussex News carried a report which must have reached Mary Robertson in Chailey at least two days before the official War Office telegram. The article ran:

LOCAL OFFICER WOUNDED
Lieut M R Robertson, Essex Regiment, whose residence, Brook House, was recently opened as a Convalescent Hospital for Wounded Officers, has been wounded in action in France for the second time.

Frances Blencowe, (sister of Robert Campion Blencowe, JP) wrote to the authorities on Magnus’s behalf later that month. An influential member of the Chailey community in her own right, for the past three years she had been nursing with Sussex 54 VAD at Hickwells and Beechland House hospitals and had also spent time at Netley Military Hospital near Southampton, and in Serbia. Now she was the Commandant of the new hospital for RFC officers which, thanks to Mary and Magnus Robertson’s generosity, had been set up at their home, Brook House.

Would it be possible, she wrote to her friend Sir Francis Davies, for you to say a good word and to enable the owner of this house to have his Convalescence here? We are a Convalescent Hospital and it would be so nice for his old mother to have him here and he would be a great help here. He is a most conscientious person and would take no forbidden liberties. His MB [Medical Board] is at Devonport and he himself is at Bigandon Hospital, Buckfastleigh, South Devon.

For his part, Sir Francis seemed at a loss what to do. A note scribbled in Robertson’s file and dated 26th July 1917 reads: “Sir Francis Davies would be very grateful if you would tell him what he may say in reply.” When that reply duly came it cannot have failed to disappoint Frances Blencowe and Mary Robertson. “The officer is a patient in a Convalescent Hospital” the note reads testily. “We deal with medical boards and are not concerned with transfer from one hospital to another.” Robertson remained in south Devon.

On 9th August 1917, a medical board held at the hospital recommended three weeks’ leave and did not think Robertson would be fit for General Service for a further three months. Nevertheless, before that time had elapsed, Robertson, now back with the 3rd Essex at Felixstowe, was again appearing before a board (on 10th October) which this time passed him fit.

On 9th November 1917, according to Robertson’s Casualty Form Active Service (CFAS), he proceeded to France. On 30th November 1917, a Lieutenant Robertson is mentioned in the Burrows volume that deals with the service battalions, as being involved in a skirmish in which the 11th Essex blocked a German attack. On 14th December 1917 he was posted to the 9th Battalion.

On 24th February 1918, Robertson was given two weeks’ leave and in April he gets more mentions in Burrows, this time in relation to the 9th Essex being heavily attacked and ‘A’ Company under Captain Robertson having “a most trying day” which saw the men fire 15,000 rounds of small arms ammunition. The 9th Essex was struggling to maintain a position known as The Quarry and Lieutenant Mussett recorded his memories of that time in Burrows:

“The Quarry portion of the line was occupied by ‘A’ Company, whose headquarters consisted of two white bell tents, nestling in The Quarry, and in them Captain Robertson and the M.O. carried on their duties. Visiting ‘A’s’ section of the line, to the left and slightly forward of ‘C’s’ in the small hours, I shall always remember dear old Robby seated in his tent, during a lull in the night’s gunfire, engaged in writing by a candle’s glimmering ray, with an old wooden box against the tent pole as writing table, with conscientious thoroughness writing some returns himself, whilst others were taking the opportunity of a much needed rest.”

On 22nd August 1918, the 9th Essex went over the top at Morlancourt. The battalion took its first two objectives but sustained heavy casualties. Six officers were killed and 120 other ranks killed, wounded and missing. Magnus Rainier Robertson was one of the officer fatalities. Burrows (page 116) describes the action as follows:

“Immediately after crossing the Bray-Meaulte Road, the Battalion ran into much trouble and heavy machine gun fire. The sun was up, the mist had cleared and the 9th Essex were below the high ground around Becordel. “D Company (Wheeler), on the left, entered their objective and “B” in the centre, gained a culvert, but “A”, on the right, were caught in a level field of stubble devoid of protection. No further advance was possible and the troops endeavoured to make what cover they could with their entrenching tools. Captain Robertson was hit again and again while his runner, Private Small, made valiant efforts to find cover for him. Here, Lieut Bailey was also killed. It was a most trying day, the men being hit one after another.”

On 24th September 1918, Messrs Cox and Co’s Shipping Agency Ltd, forwarded a small package of Captain Robertson’s personal effects to Chailey by registered post. The following year, probate of his Will was granted. He left an estate valued at £44,789 10s and 7d.

Captain Robertson was buried in Sandpit British Cemetery, Meaulte and on 31st October 1918, the War Office wrote to his mother to inform her of this. His body was later disinterred and re-buried at Meaulte Triangle Cemetery (now known as Meaulte Military Cemetery). His grave was later given the reference G.15. His family had the additional words JESU MERCY / CHAILEY, SUSSEX carved on his headstone

Magnus Robertson’s death brought to an end this particular branch of the family. His mother, who had seen all three of her children die, passed away in 1933.

On May 12th 2005, Captain Robertson’s British War Medal was sold at auction in London for £110.

With thanks to Iain Galbraith for the background on the Robertson and McQueen relationship which is expressed in Iain's words in paragraphs three and four.